Love. Love. Love.

growing stronger with each new day.

Joyce Ann- 11-22-2013 –love, peace and understanding

writing1

I am thankful for... I am thankful for…

Gratitude cards to be delivered to seniors who will recieve a  Thanksgiving meal through the Meals on Wheels organizationGratitude cards to be delivered to seniors who will receive a Thanksgiving meal through the Meals on Wheels organization

circlemap

We have had a busy days in my second grade classroom. I’ve thought a lot about how fortunate I am to have SO much to be thankful for. During all this self-reflection I began to think about how I can share this process with my second grade students. I wanted them to know that they too have so much to thankful for and what they have cannot be bought in a store. So we spent weeks talking about relationships, our connection to each other, our connections to family, friends, land, water, and the air. I am truly inspired by the passion and insight my six and seven-year old students have. The daily lessons, shared stories, readings, videos and research led us to write about…everday acts of kindness, opinion pieces on what we are thankful for and we wrote a short letter to an older adult who will not be spending the holiday with family. I was very fortunate to have a friend whose church agreed to deliver the cards to each of their Meals on Wheels recipients during the holiday. Over the course of a few days, my 2nd graders thoughtfully wrote heartwarming cards to the seniors. We wrote a little bit about ourselves, described our plans for the holiday, and sent the seniors messages of friendship and love. The end result is beautiful.

Wishing you all love, joy and endless peace

-J

Leave a Reply

